‘Victory’ Team in Sri Lanka for ODI?

priyanka chopra hurman baweja 936m1 17022

Spotted at the Colombo one day international were Harman (or Hurman) Baweja and the rest of the cast and crew of the new Bollywood flick “Victory”. Were they simply there to soak in the atmosphere in the Emerald Isles in the same weekend that their movie released?
Harman Baweja even changed his name to Hurman Baweja to change his fortunes at the box office though perhaps it will not help him win back his now former girl friend Priyanka Chopra. While Amrita Rao squealed for any one who would hear her disappointment that she did not get to share screen space with cricketers such as Brett Lee, there is no doubt that Hurman, as he is now to be known, that enjoyed every bit of playing cricket in the middle, even if it does not do the trick at the box office.
Victory is another cricket centric movie like Lagaan and Iqbal but this once could be compared more to Iqbal because the story essentially revolves around a father-son relationship and the realization of the dream of becoming a cricketer.
Anupam Kher plays Ram Shekhawat, whose dreams for his small town to be a cricketer become compulsive. Vijay aka Hurman Baweja does realize his dream from a small town nobody is Jaisalmer but soon gets caught up in the glamourous side of the sport, the occupational hazard if you will.
Having lost ground and his way including watching his father deteriorate with his deteriorating dreams spurs Baweja to play the innings of his lifetime and wrest not only the Champions Trophy for India playing against Australia but win back his dreams turned reality.
How well it does at the box office? That is anybody’s guess.

brett lee PFLBq 17022

But here are the names of a few cricketers making their movie debut in the Hindi cinema industry and some who think they are getting good at it!

Brett Lee, Mike Hussey, Simon Katich, Stuart Clarke, Brad Hogg, Brad Haddin, Allan Border, Michael Slater, Dean Jones, Shoaib Mallik, Harbhajan Singh, Dinesh Karthik, R. P. Singh, Praveen Kumar, Yusuf Pathan, Ashish Nehra, Ramesh Powar, Navjot Singh Siddhu, Maninder Singh, Atul Wassan, Martin Crowe, Sohail Tanvir, Rao Iftekhar, Kamran Akmal, Waqar Yunus, Sanath Jayasurya, Chaminda Vaas, Kumara Sangakkara, Muttiah Murlitharan, Mahroof, Fernando, Ajantha Mendes, Graeme Smith, Andre Nel, A. Morkel, M. Morkel, and Pat Symcox.

When There’s no Cricket; The Suave Come out to Dance

Lee ties the knot with Kemp

Brett Lee Pulls out of Bangladesh Series; Split with wife Liz cited

Brett Lee’s Infidelity Woes, Indifference, and Now Injury

Double Tragic Tales: Smith’s Broken Bones Shift Advantage; Lee Out As Well

The Week’s Craziest Headline: IPL – Root Cause of Aussie Decline?

Younis Khan is Pakistan Skipper, Mallik dismissed

IPL and Team India Effect: Wessels Cautions, Albie Opts Out

Mickey Arthur unveils new Protea ODI plans

Morkel powerplays pinch-hitting revives the Zulu image

Smith Adds Personal Touch to Team Success

Morne’s Racial Abuse Deftly Handed; SA All Praises